Clinical Neurosurgery logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

Clinical Neurosurgery Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt

TL;DR
  • This credential is certified by AFMA's American Board of Clinical Neurological Surgery, with AANOS administering the process and requiring membership.
  • Part I is an online written exam; passing it is required before the separate Part II oral examination.
  • The application and examination fee is USD $1,850, and a written retake requires a six-month wait plus a new fee.
  • Ten published Part I topic areas span anatomy to ethics; they are an inclusive list, not an official weighted blueprint.

What You Are Actually Sitting: AANOS, AFMA and the ABCNS

Before building a study plan, be certain which credential you are preparing for. The Clinical Neurosurgery certification covered on this site is issued through the American Federation for Medical Accreditation (AFMA), specifically its American Board of Clinical Neurological Surgery (ABCNS). The American Academy of Neurological & Orthopaedic Surgeons (AANOS) administers the examination process, and AANOS membership is required. Membership and certification applications may be submitted at the same time, which saves a step for most candidates.

This matters for your preparation because the credential is distinct from other neurosurgical examinations and courses. ABNS examinations and AANS courses are separate programs with their own formats, fees and content. Study materials, pass-rate anecdotes and scheduling advice written for those programs do not transfer cleanly. If you are still getting oriented, our overview pages on what Clinical Neurosurgery certification is and the broader Clinical Neurosurgery certification page lay out the basics.

Scope check: The current application uses "Clinical Neurosurgery" in its introduction and "Clinical Neurological Surgery" on its selection form. These refer to the same credential. If you see both phrasings in the paperwork, you are in the right place.

Settle Eligibility Before You Open a Textbook

The most common way to waste study time is to prepare for an exam you cannot yet sit. Eligibility is documentation-heavy, and several items depend on third parties (your program director and two colleagues), so start the paperwork early. The full breakdown is in our Clinical Neurosurgery requirements guide; the essentials are below.

General Eligibility

  • Medical school, internship, one year of general-surgery residency, and four years of specialty residency or equivalent.
  • Appropriate current medical licensure.
  • Direct program-director confirmation of your training.
  • 18-24 months of subsequent specialty practice in the country where you intend to use the certification.
  • At least 25 primary-provider case reports or operative/surgical cases; if your residency was outside the US, the requirement rises to 50.

Specialty-Specific and US-Use Rules

For certification intended for US use, the specialty-specific rule requires a minimum of five years of neurological-surgery residency or equivalent. Applicants trained outside the US who want US-use certification need 24 months of US practice and 50 US cases, and must legally reside and practice in the US. International certifications are restricted to the country of licensure and practice and are not transferable to the US.

Supporting Documents

  • A current CV and training certificates.
  • Two recommendations from specialty colleagues, submitted directly.
  • For US applicants, 150 CME hours from the previous three years.
Case log strategy: Because the threshold is expressed in primary-provider cases, begin assembling your case documentation while you study. It is far easier to pull records from a recent period than to reconstruct them under deadline pressure, and your case list doubles as raw material for the oral examination.

Part I, Part II and the 70% Rules

The examination is staged. Part I is an online written examination that can be scheduled from home or office. Passing Part I is required before you can take Part II, the oral examination, which tests clinical judgment, diagnosis, operative decisions and complication management. The oral may follow immediately after the written, and it is preferably completed within two months of passing Part I.

ElementPart I (Written)Part II (Oral)
FormatOnline, schedulable from home or officeOral examination, separate from Part I
What it testsPublished topic areas across ten domainsClinical judgment, diagnosis, operative decisions, complication management
PrerequisiteApproved applicationPassing Part I
TimingScheduled by candidateMay follow immediately; preferably within two months of Part I
Retake ruleWritten retake requires a six-month wait and a separate examination fee (amount not specified in the reviewed instructions)

Reading the Passing Standard Carefully

Two published statements exist and they should be kept distinct. The ABCNS page requires at least 70% correct on Part I. AFMA's general instructions describe a 70% cumulative written/oral passing result. Do not assume a combined-score formula that neither source publishes. The safe preparation target is to treat 70% on the written as the floor you must clear and to prepare for the oral as a fully separate hurdle. For more on interpreting the standard, see our passing score guide.

What Is and Is Not Published

The reviewed public issuer sources do not verify a question count, written or oral time limits, or a pass-rate statistic. Any specific figure you see quoted elsewhere should be treated with caution. Our pass rate article and difficulty guide discuss what can and cannot be concluded from the available information.

Fee Mechanics

The application and examination fee is USD $1,850. A written retake requires a separate examination fee, and its amount was not specified in the reviewed instructions, so confirm it with AANOS or AFMA before budgeting for a second attempt. Renewal costs are covered later in this guide, and the full breakdown is in our certification cost guide.

Mapping the Ten Part I Topic Areas

The issuer publishes ten Part I examination topics. They are unweighted, and the list is inclusive rather than exhaustive: it does not constitute an official numbered or weighted blueprint. That has a practical consequence. You cannot allocate study hours by percentage, so you must allocate them by your own weakness and by clinical stakes. For a deeper walk-through, see the complete guide to all 10 content areas.

#Topic AreaCharacter of Material
1Anatomy of the brain, spinal cord, and peripheral nervesRecall and spatial reasoning
2Neuropathology and NeuroimagingPattern recognition
3Neurophysiology and NeuropharmacologyMechanism and drug knowledge
4Neurological examination and diagnostic techniquesLocalization and diagnostic reasoning
5Surgical techniques and approaches (tumors, vascular, trauma, infection)Operative decision-making
6Pediatric neurosurgeryAge-specific pathology and management
7Functional neurosurgeryIndications and techniques
8Neurotrauma and Critical CareAcute management protocols
9Spinal disorders and surgeryIndications, approaches, complications
10Ethics and medico-legal issues in neurosurgeryJudgment and professional standards

Domains 1-4: The Foundation Block

The first four topic areas are the substrate for everything else, including the oral. Weak anatomy and localization show up later as weak operative reasoning, so treat this block as the base layer rather than a separate subject.

Domain 1: Anatomy of the brain, spinal cord, and peripheral nerves

Expect to reason spatially, not just recite structures. Practice tracing pathways and relating structures to surgical corridors.

  • Cortical, subcortical and brainstem organization, and the vascular territories that map onto them.
  • Spinal cord tracts and cross-sectional anatomy, with the clinical syndromes produced by focal lesions.
  • Peripheral nerve anatomy, plexus organization and common entrapment sites.

Domain 2: Neuropathology and Neuroimaging

This area rewards pairing a lesion's histology with its imaging appearance and its location.

  • Major tumor categories, vascular lesions, infectious and inflammatory processes, and degenerative conditions.
  • Reading CT and MRI sequences and recognizing characteristic appearances.
  • Connecting imaging findings to likely pathology and to the next management step.

Domain 3: Neurophysiology and Neuropharmacology

Mechanism-level understanding pays off here, because questions tend to test why something happens.

  • Intracranial pressure, cerebral blood flow and autoregulation concepts.
  • Electrophysiologic principles relevant to monitoring and diagnosis.
  • Drugs commonly used in neurosurgical practice, including mechanisms, interactions and adverse effects.

Domain 4: Neurological examination and diagnostic techniques

Localization is the core skill. Be ready to move from an examination finding to a lesion site and then to an appropriate diagnostic test.

  • Cranial nerve, motor, sensory and reflex examination findings and their localizing value.
  • Selecting and sequencing diagnostic studies appropriately.
  • Recognizing when an examination finding signals an emergency.

Domains 5-9: Operative and Clinical Judgment

This is where the credential distinguishes itself from a pure knowledge test. Domain 5 explicitly covers surgical techniques and approaches across brain and spinal cord tumors, vascular disorders, trauma and infection, and it feeds directly into the oral, which examines operative decisions and complication management.

Domain 5: Surgical Techniques and Approaches

For each of the four pathology groups named in the topic, practice a consistent framework: indication, approach selection, key anatomic risks, intraoperative decision points and complications. Being able to explain why one approach is chosen over another is more valuable than memorizing a list of approaches.

Domain 6: Pediatric Neurosurgery

Pediatric material is easy to under-study because many adult-focused candidates see it infrequently. Give it its own dedicated block rather than folding it into other topics, and focus on how presentation, anatomy and management differ by age.

Domain 7: Functional Neurosurgery

Concentrate on indications, patient selection and the principles behind the procedures, along with their characteristic complications.

Domain 8: Neurotrauma and Critical Care

Expect acute, protocol-driven reasoning. Know the sequence of assessment and intervention, and be able to justify decisions when the clinical picture is evolving.

Domain 9: Spinal Disorders and Surgery

Prepare around indications, approach selection, stability considerations and the complications that follow spinal procedures.

Complication thinking: The oral specifically probes complication management. As you study Domains 5-9, add a standing question to every procedure: what can go wrong, how would I recognize it early, and what would I do next? That habit builds the exact reasoning the oral rewards.

Domain 10: Ethics and Medico-Legal Issues

It is tempting to treat ethics as soft material to skim the night before. Resist that. It is one of the ten published topic areas, and the reasoning style differs from the rest of the exam: questions turn on professional standards, consent, disclosure and documentation rather than on technical facts.

Domain 10: Ethics and medico-legal issues in neurosurgery

Prepare to apply principles to realistic scenarios.

  • Informed consent, including capacity and surrogate decision-making in neurosurgical emergencies.
  • Disclosure of complications and adverse outcomes.
  • Documentation, record-keeping and professional conduct expectations.
  • The boundary between what certification confers and what it does not.

That last point is itself a useful exam-adjacent fact: board certification does not confer medical licensure, and it does not guarantee a particular hospital will grant privileges. Keeping that distinction clear is good practice professionally as well.

Preparing for the Oral Examination

Part II is a separate examination of clinical judgment, diagnosis, operative decisions and complication management. Candidates who prepare only for the written often find the oral requires a different skill: speaking a reasoned decision aloud, in order, under questioning.

Build a Spoken Case Routine

  1. Present the case concisely: history, examination, key findings.
  2. State your differential and the reasoning that ranks it.
  3. Name the diagnostic studies you would order and why.
  4. Commit to a management plan and defend the approach chosen.
  5. Walk through foreseeable complications and your response to each.

Use Your Own Cases

The case documentation you assemble for eligibility is ideal rehearsal material. Practice presenting cases you have personally managed, including the ones that did not go perfectly, because complication management is a named focus of the examination.

Reading Resources

AANOS publishes a Neurosurgery Reading List intended as a preparation bibliography for both the written and oral examinations. Use it as a starting bibliography, not a content outline. It is undated, it is not an examination blueprint, and it does not demonstrate that the listed book editions are current, so verify editions before purchasing. For a condensed fact review as your exam nears, our Clinical Neurosurgery cheat sheet is a useful companion.

A Domain-Ordered Study Schedule

Because the published list is unweighted, sequence your study by dependency and by clinical risk: foundations first, operative judgment next, ethics threaded throughout. The timeline below is a template; compress or extend it to your actual calendar, and revisit the core study guide if you want the broader framing.

Weeks 1-2

Anatomy and Localization

  • Domain 1: brain, spinal cord and peripheral nerve anatomy.
  • Domain 4: examination findings and lesion localization.
  • Reason: every later domain assumes this base.
Weeks 3-4

Pathology, Imaging and Physiology

  • Domain 2: pair pathology with imaging appearance.
  • Domain 3: neurophysiology and neuropharmacology mechanisms.
Weeks 5-7

Operative Reasoning

  • Domain 5: approaches for tumors, vascular disorders, trauma and infection.
  • Domain 9: spinal disorders and surgery.
  • Add complication-recognition questions to every procedure.
Weeks 8-9

Specialized and Acute Care

  • Domain 6: pediatric neurosurgery.
  • Domain 7: functional neurosurgery.
  • Domain 8: neurotrauma and critical care.
Week 10

Ethics, Integration and Practice Testing

  • Domain 10: consent, disclosure, documentation and medico-legal scenarios.
  • Timed mixed review across all ten areas, then begin oral rehearsal.

Key Takeaway

Schedule your Part I date so the oral can follow within the preferred two-month window. If you pass the written but delay the oral for months, you lose the benefit of knowledge that is still fresh. Use our practice tests in the final weeks to simulate the written, and check scheduling and deadlines before committing to a date.

After You Pass: Renewal, Scope and Limits

Certification is not a one-time event. Renewal is required every five years. The renewal package includes an updated CV, documentation of continuing medical education and ongoing skills training, a detailed list of 150 Category 1 CME hours from the previous five years, and a USD $450 processing fee per certification. Late fees may be assessed after the five-year mark, so calendar your renewal well ahead.

Plan your expectations realistically. Certification does not confer licensure, and it does not guarantee that a given hospital will grant privileges. International certifications are tied to the country of licensure and practice. If you are weighing the career side of the decision, see our analyses on whether the certification is worth it, the salary guide, and the jobs overview to understand how employers and credentialing committees may view it.

Frequently Asked Questions

Who certifies Clinical Neurosurgery, and what does AANOS do?

Certification is issued through the American Federation for Medical Accreditation's American Board of Clinical Neurological Surgery (ABCNS). The American Academy of Neurological & Orthopaedic Surgeons (AANOS) administers the examination process, and AANOS membership is required. Membership and certification applications can be submitted simultaneously.

How much does the exam cost, and what happens if I fail the written portion?

The application and examination fee is USD $1,850. A written retake requires a six-month wait and a separate examination fee. The amount of that retake fee was not specified in the reviewed instructions, so confirm it directly before planning a second attempt.

What score do I need to pass?

The ABCNS page requires at least 70% correct on Part I, while AFMA's general instructions state a 70% cumulative written/oral passing result. These two published rules are distinct, and no combined-score formula is published, so prepare to clear 70% on the written and to perform strongly on the oral.

Is the exam question count or pass rate published?

No. In the reviewed current public issuer sources, no question count, written or oral time limit, or pass-rate statistic was verified. Be cautious with any specific figures quoted elsewhere, and rely on the issuer's published topics and requirements.

Can I use this certification internationally?

International certifications are restricted to the country of licensure and practice and are not transferable to the US. US-use certification requires you to legally reside and practice in the US, and applicants trained outside the US seeking it need 24 months of US practice and 50 US cases.

Preparing well means respecting the staged structure: confirm eligibility, master the ten published topic areas in a deliberate order, then rehearse the oral as its own skill. When you are ready to test yourself under realistic conditions, you can take a practice exam on our main practice test site.

Ready to pass your Clinical Neurosurgery exam?

Put this into practice with free Clinical Neurosurgery questions across every exam domain.