- What the Pass Rate Data Actually Shows
- Why No Official Pass Rate Exists
- The Two-Stage Structure and What 70% Means
- Who Sits the Exam: The Screening Effect
- Where Candidates Lose Points: The Ten Part I Topics
- The Oral Examination as the Second Filter
- Retakes, Timing, and Cost of a Miss
- Sequencing Preparation Around the Domains
- How to Read Pass Rate Claims You Find Online
- Frequently Asked Questions
- No verified Clinical Neurosurgery pass rate has been published by AFMA, ABCNS, or AANOS in the reviewed current sources.
- Part I is an online written exam requiring at least 70% correct; passing it unlocks the Part II oral exam.
- The combined application and examination fee is USD $1,850; a written retake requires a six-month wait plus a new fee.
- Heavy eligibility screening (five-year residency, 25+ cases, references) filters candidates before they ever sit the exam.
What the Pass Rate Data Actually Shows
Candidates searching for a Clinical Neurosurgery pass rate usually want one number: the percentage of examinees who pass on the first try. The honest answer is that, as of the most recent review of current public issuer sources, no such number has been verified. The American Federation for Medical Accreditation (AFMA), its American Board of Clinical Neurological Surgery (ABCNS), and the American Academy of Neurological & Orthopaedic Surgeons (AANOS), which administers the examination process, do not publish an exam pass-rate statistic on the pages that describe the certification.
That absence is itself useful data. It tells you how to approach preparation: you cannot calibrate your effort against a published first-time pass percentage, so you must calibrate against the stated passing standard, the breadth of the ten published Part I topics, and the demands of the oral examination. This article lays out what is known, explains the structural features that shape outcomes, and shows you how to avoid being misled by unsourced figures.
Why No Official Pass Rate Exists in the Public Record
Several things were checked and not found in the current public issuer sources: a pass-rate statistic, a question count for the written exam, and a written or oral time limit. Because these are absent, any article claiming "the Clinical Neurosurgery pass rate is X%" is either importing a figure from an unrelated credential or fabricating one. For a certification of this size and structure, that is a real risk. If you want the fuller picture of how difficult candidates find the process, see our guide on how hard the Clinical Neurosurgery exam is, which approaches the question through content breadth and format rather than invented percentages.
What you can reliably say about the exam's published structure:
- Part I is an online written examination that can be scheduled from home or office.
- Passing Part I is required before the separate Part II oral examination.
- The oral examination tests clinical judgment, diagnosis, operative decisions, and complication management.
- The ABCNS page requires at least 70% correct on Part I.
The Two-Stage Structure and What 70% Means
The structure of the exam matters more to your outcome than any headline pass rate. Clinical Neurosurgery certification is a two-stage process, and the two published passing rules should be kept distinct rather than merged into a formula that the issuer has not provided.
| Source | Published Passing Rule | What It Governs |
|---|---|---|
| ABCNS exam page | At least 70% correct on Part I | The written stage |
| AFMA general instructions | 70% cumulative written/oral passing result | The overall result across both stages |
Do not invent a weighting between the written and oral components. The reviewed sources do not describe a combined-score formula, so the safest reading is that you must clear the written threshold to advance, and that the oral stage is evaluated against AFMA's general standard. Our dedicated article on the Clinical Neurosurgery passing score walks through how to interpret these two statements without over-reading either one.
Who Sits the Exam: The Screening Effect
Pass rates for any certification are shaped as much by who is allowed to apply as by how hard the questions are. Clinical Neurosurgery has a demanding eligibility gate, which means the people who reach the exam are already experienced surgeons. General eligibility includes:
- Medical school, internship, one year of general-surgery residency, and four years of specialty residency or equivalent
- Appropriate current medical licensure
- Direct program-director confirmation of training
- 18-24 months of subsequent specialty practice in the country where certification will be used
- At least 25 primary-provider case reports or operative/surgical cases (50 if residency was outside the US)
For US-use certification there is a separate specialty-specific rule: a minimum of five years of neurological-surgery residency or equivalent. Applicants trained outside the US who seek US-use certification need 24 months of US practice and 50 US cases. The application also requires a CV, training certificates, two recommendations submitted directly by specialty colleagues, and 150 CME hours from the previous three years for US applicants. Full details are in our Clinical Neurosurgery requirements guide.
The practical consequence is a strong selection effect. Candidates are not fresh graduates guessing their way through material for the first time; they are trained surgeons with documented case experience. Whatever the true pass rate is, it describes a pre-filtered population, and comparing it to open-enrollment exams would be misleading.
Where Candidates Lose Points: The Ten Part I Topics
The issuer publishes ten unweighted Part I exam topics. This list is inclusive but does not establish exhaustive coverage, and it is not an official numbered or weighted blueprint. Because no weights are given, you cannot safely skip any area on the assumption that it counts for little. For a deeper walk-through, see our complete guide to all 10 Clinical Neurosurgery content areas.
Anatomy of the brain, spinal cord, and peripheral nerves
The foundation for every other topic. Surgeons often know operative anatomy deeply but lose points on peripheral nerve detail and spinal cord tract organization.
- Cranial nerve nuclei and exit foramina
- Spinal cord tracts and lesion localization
- Peripheral nerve branching patterns
Neuropathology and Neuroimaging
Expect to connect tissue diagnosis to imaging appearance. Practicing surgeons who rely on radiology reads may be rusty on classic imaging signatures.
- CNS tumor classification and typical imaging features
- Vascular lesion appearance across modalities
- Infectious and demyelinating patterns
Neurophysiology and Neuropharmacology
Often the least-practiced area for working surgeons, which makes it a common source of lost points.
- Intraoperative monitoring principles
- CSF dynamics and intracranial pressure physiology
- Antiepileptic, osmotic, and anticoagulation pharmacology
Neurological examination and diagnostic techniques
Clinical localization and choosing the right test. This topic bridges directly into the oral stage.
- Localizing lesions from examination findings
- Selecting and interpreting diagnostic studies
Surgical techniques and approaches for brain and spinal cord tumors, vascular disorders, trauma, and infection
The broadest topic in the list, spanning four disease categories. Approach selection and rationale, not just technique, is the likely emphasis given the oral exam's focus on operative decisions.
The remaining five topics are Pediatric neurosurgery, Functional neurosurgery, Neurotrauma and Critical Care, Spinal disorders and surgery, and Ethics and medico-legal issues in neurosurgery. Subspecialists commonly underperform outside their own niche: a spine-focused surgeon may be rusty on pediatric and functional content, while a cranial surgeon may underestimate spinal disorders. Ethics and medico-legal questions reward familiarity with consent, disclosure, and documentation norms that daily practice does not always make explicit.
The Oral Examination as the Second Filter
Part II is where clinical judgment is tested directly: diagnosis, operative decisions, and complication management. It follows the written exam and may follow immediately, though completing it within two months of passing Part I is preferred. This timing matters for pass-rate reasoning. A candidate who passes the written stage and then delays the oral exam risks losing momentum and recall of the case-based reasoning they rehearsed.
Complication management is the area most likely to separate confident answers from hesitant ones. Be prepared to discuss:
- Recognizing a complication early and stating your first three actions
- Choosing between operative and non-operative management and defending the choice
- Explaining what you would do differently, and why
Key Takeaway
Rehearse the oral stage out loud. Talking through a case from presentation to complication, timed and uninterrupted, exposes gaps that silent reading never will. The AANOS Neurosurgery Reading List is a preparation bibliography for the written and oral exams, but it is not an examination blueprint and does not prove its listed editions are current, so verify editions before buying.
Retakes, Timing, and the Cost of a Miss
The cost structure explains why a first-attempt pass matters even without a published rate. The application and examination fee is USD $1,850. A written retake requires a six-month wait and a separate examination fee; the amount of that retake fee was not specified in the reviewed instructions, so confirm it directly with AFMA before budgeting.
| Item | Published Detail |
|---|---|
| Application and examination fee | USD $1,850 |
| Written retake wait | Six months |
| Written retake fee | Separate fee; amount not specified in reviewed instructions |
| Recertification interval | Every five years |
| Recertification processing fee | USD $450 per certification |
A failed written attempt therefore costs you at least half a year plus an additional fee. For the full cost picture, including recertification, see our Clinical Neurosurgery certification cost breakdown. Recertification requires an updated CV, documentation of continuing medical education and ongoing skills training, and a detailed list of 150 Category 1 CME hours over the previous five years; late fees may be assessed after five years.
Scheduling details are covered in our article on Clinical Neurosurgery exam dates. Because Part I is online and can be taken from home or office, the logistical barrier is lower than for a testing-center exam, but that convenience also means you must control your own environment, connectivity, and pacing.
Sequencing Preparation Around the Domains
Since no pass rate tells you how much margin you have, sequence your preparation to protect against your weakest topic rather than polishing your strongest. One reasonable arrangement, tied to the ten Part I topics:
Foundations you use least
- Neurophysiology and Neuropharmacology
- Anatomy of the brain, spinal cord, and peripheral nerves
Diagnosis and imaging
- Neuropathology and Neuroimaging
- Neurological examination and diagnostic techniques
Operative breadth
- Surgical techniques and approaches (tumor, vascular, trauma, infection)
- Spinal disorders and surgery
Subspecialty gaps and oral readiness
- Pediatric and functional neurosurgery
- Neurotrauma and Critical Care
- Ethics and medico-legal issues; spoken case rehearsal
The logic: start with the basic-science topics practicing surgeons touch least, finish with the clinical and ethical material that feeds the oral stage, and keep spoken case rehearsal in the final stretch so it is fresh when Part II arrives. Adjust the durations to your own schedule. Our Clinical Neurosurgery study guide expands this into a fuller plan, and the one-page cheat sheet is useful for last-week review. When you are ready to test recall under realistic conditions, use the Clinical Neurosurgery practice tests.
How to Read Pass Rate Claims You Find Online
Because the issuer has not published a pass rate, treat any specific percentage with skepticism. Run each claim through these checks:
- Is the source the issuer? Look for AFMA, ABCNS, or AANOS as the origin. Third-party blogs and forums are not primary sources.
- Is it the right credential? Several certifications share similar names. A percentage for a different board or a different neurosurgery examination does not describe this one.
- Is it dated and defined? A real statistic states the year, whether it covers first-time takers or all takers, and whether it refers to the written stage, the oral stage, or both.
- Does it match the structure? A single number that ignores the written/oral split is likely oversimplified.
Frequently Asked Questions
No exam pass-rate statistic was verified in the reviewed current public sources from AFMA, ABCNS, or AANOS. Any specific percentage you see should be traced to an issuer source before you rely on it.
The ABCNS page requires at least 70% correct on Part I. AFMA's general instructions separately state a 70% cumulative written/oral passing result. These are published as distinct rules, and no combined-score formula is provided.
The application and examination fee is USD $1,850. A written retake requires a six-month wait and a separate examination fee, the amount of which was not specified in the reviewed instructions, so confirm it with AFMA.
The oral examination may follow immediately, and completing it within two months after passing the written stage is preferred. It focuses on clinical judgment, diagnosis, operative decisions, and complication management.
No. Board certification does not confer medical licensure or guarantee acceptance by a particular hospital for privileges. Certification is also restricted to the country of licensure and practice, and international certifications are not transferable to the US.