Clinical Neurosurgery logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Is A Clinical Neurosurgery?

TL;DR
  • Clinical Neurosurgery here means certification through AFMA's American Board of Clinical Neurological Surgery, administered via AANOS.
  • Part I is an online written exam; passing it is required before the Part II oral examination.
  • The application and examination fee is USD $1,850, and renewal every five years carries a $450 processing fee.
  • US-use certification requires five years of neurological-surgery residency or equivalent and at least 25 primary-provider cases.

What a Clinical Neurosurgery Credential Actually Is

When people search for "a Clinical Neurosurgery," they are usually asking one of two questions: what is the field, or what is the credential? This article focuses on the credential. Clinical Neurosurgery, as offered through the American Academy of Neurological & Orthopaedic Surgeons (AANOS), is a board certification pathway for physicians who have completed neurosurgical training and want a formal, examination-based credential in neurological surgery.

The wording varies slightly across the paperwork. The current application introduces the program as Clinical Neurosurgery, while its selection form lists the specialty as Clinical Neurological Surgery. These are the same credential, and recognizing both labels helps you avoid confusion when you read the application, the issuer pages and the preparation materials side by side.

If you want the broader definitional picture, our companion pages on what Clinical Neurosurgery is and its meaning cover the terminology, while this article concentrates on how the credential is structured and administered.

Who Issues It: AANOS, AFMA and ABCNS

Three organizations appear in the credential's paperwork, and each has a distinct role:

  • AANOS administers the examination process and requires membership. Membership and certification applications may be submitted at the same time.
  • AFMA (American Federation for Medical Accreditation) is the current certifying body.
  • ABCNS (American Board of Clinical Neurological Surgery) is the AFMA board that owns the neurosurgery certification and publishes the Part I examination topics.
Keep the scope straight: The ABNS examinations and AANS courses are separate programs from separate organizations. Nothing in this credential's requirements, fees or exam format should be assumed to apply to them, and nothing from them should be assumed to apply here.

Because the credential sits under AFMA's certification framework, some rules come from the ABCNS page and others from AFMA's general instructions. Where those published rules differ slightly, we preserve both rather than blending them, as discussed in the passing-score section below.

How the Two-Part Examination Works

Part I: Online Written Examination

Part I is an online written examination that can be scheduled for home or office. Passing Part I is required before you can sit for Part II. The ABCNS page states that candidates need at least 70% correct on Part I.

Part II: Oral Examination

Part II is a separate oral examination that assesses clinical judgment, diagnosis, operative decisions and complication management. In other words, it moves beyond recall and tests how you reason through a case: what you would diagnose, what you would operate on and how, and what you would do when something goes wrong. The oral examination may follow immediately after the written stage, and it is preferably completed within two months of passing Part I.

A Note on Passing Standards

The published sources frame the passing standard in two ways. The ABCNS page requires at least 70% correct on Part I. AFMA's general instructions describe a 70% cumulative written/oral passing result. We do not construct a combined-score formula from these, because none is published. For a deeper look at how to read these statements, see our guide to the Clinical Neurosurgery passing score.

What has not been verified: Reviewed public issuer sources do not state a question count, written or oral time limits, or an exam pass rate. Be skeptical of any site quoting those figures as official. Our pass rate analysis explains what the available evidence does and does not support.
FeaturePart I (Written)Part II (Oral)
FormatOnline, schedulable from home or officeOral examination
FocusPublished topic areas across neurosurgical knowledgeClinical judgment, diagnosis, operative decisions, complication management
PrerequisiteApproved applicationPassing Part I
TimingCandidate-scheduledMay follow immediately; preferably within two months of Part I
Published thresholdAt least 70% correct (ABCNS page)AFMA general instructions cite 70% cumulative written/oral

The Ten Topic Areas Behind Part I

The issuer publishes a list of Part I examination topics. We present them as ten unweighted domains. This list is inclusive, but it is not an official numbered or weighted blueprint, and it does not establish exhaustive coverage. Treat it as a map of the territory rather than a precise score allocation. For a domain-by-domain walkthrough, see our complete guide to the ten content areas.

Domain 1: Anatomy of the brain, spinal cord, and peripheral nerves

The structural foundation for everything else, from approach planning to lesion localization.

  • Cranial and spinal anatomy relevant to operative corridors
  • Peripheral nerve anatomy and its clinical correlates

Domain 2: Neuropathology and Neuroimaging

Recognizing disease processes and reading the studies that reveal them.

  • Tumor, vascular, infectious and degenerative pathology
  • Interpreting imaging findings in context

Domain 3: Neurophysiology and Neuropharmacology

How the nervous system functions and how drugs act on it.

  • Physiologic principles underlying neurological function
  • Pharmacologic agents relevant to neurosurgical care

Domain 4: Neurological examination and diagnostic techniques

Bedside assessment and the diagnostic tools that refine it.

  • Systematic neurological examination and localization
  • Selecting appropriate diagnostic studies

Domain 5: Surgical techniques and approaches for brain and spinal cord tumors, vascular disorders, trauma, and infection

The operative core: choosing and executing the right approach for the right lesion.

  • Approach selection across tumor, vascular, traumatic and infectious pathology
  • Anticipating operative hazards

Domain 6: Pediatric neurosurgery

Conditions and management principles specific to children.

  • Developmental and congenital considerations
  • Differences from adult presentation and management

Domain 7: Functional neurosurgery

Surgery aimed at modulating or restoring neurological function.

  • Indications and patient selection
  • Principles behind functional interventions

Domain 8: Neurotrauma and Critical Care

Acute injury management and intensive care of the neurosurgical patient.

  • Initial assessment and stabilization after injury
  • Neurocritical care principles

Domain 9: Spinal disorders and surgery

Degenerative, traumatic and neoplastic spinal conditions and their operative management.

  • Indications for intervention
  • Perioperative decision-making

Domain 10: Ethics and medico-legal issues in neurosurgery

Consent, professional responsibility and legal dimensions of neurosurgical practice.

  • Informed consent in high-risk surgery
  • Medico-legal considerations in documentation and practice

Eligibility and Documentation

This credential is aimed at physicians who have already completed substantial training, not at students or early residents. The general eligibility framework includes:

  • Medical school, an internship and one year of general-surgery residency
  • Four years of specialty residency or equivalent
  • Appropriate current medical licensure
  • Direct confirmation of your training from the program director
  • 18-24 months of subsequent specialty practice in the country where the certification will be used

Case Requirements

Applicants must document at least 25 primary-provider case reports or operative/surgical cases. If your residency was completed outside the US, that requirement increases to 50.

Specialty-Specific Rules for US-Use Certification

For certification intended for use in the US, the current specialty-specific rule separately requires a minimum of five years of neurological-surgery residency or equivalent. Applicants trained outside the US who seek US-use certification need 24 months of US practice and 50 US cases. US-use certification also requires that you legally reside and practice in the US.

Supporting Documents

  • A current CV
  • Training certificates
  • Two recommendations from specialty colleagues, submitted directly to the issuer
  • 150 CME hours from the previous three years for US applicants
Country restriction: International certifications are restricted to the country of licensure and practice. They are not transferable to the US. Decide where you intend to use the credential before you apply, since that determines which rules govern your file.

For the full qualification walkthrough, read our Clinical Neurosurgery requirements guide.

Fees, Retakes and Renewal

ItemPublished Detail
Application and examination feeUSD $1,850
Written retakeSix-month wait plus a separate examination fee (amount not specified in the reviewed instructions)
Renewal cycleEvery five years
Renewal processing feeUSD $450 per certification; late fees may be assessed after five years
Renewal documentationUpdated CV, documentation of CME and ongoing skills training, and a detailed list of 150 Category 1 CME hours from the previous five years

Note the distinction in CME expectations: initial US applicants document 150 CME hours from the previous three years, while renewal requires 150 Category 1 hours across the previous five years. Planning your CME log early makes both stages far easier. Our certification cost breakdown puts these numbers into a full budget picture.

What the Credential Does and Does Not Do

Board certification is a recognition of examined competence, not a legal permission to practice. Specifically:

  • It does not confer medical licensure. You must hold appropriate current licensure independently.
  • It does not guarantee that a particular hospital will grant you privileges. Credentialing committees make their own decisions.
  • It is tied to the country where you are licensed and practicing.

Because of these limits, candidates weighing the investment should consider how their own employer or hospital treats this credential. Our ROI analysis and jobs overview discuss how to think about that decision without relying on unverified earnings claims.

Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Topic List

You do not need a generic study system here, just a sensible order that reflects how the ten topics build on one another. Start with foundations, move to operative content, and finish with the material most likely to be tested through reasoning.

Weeks 1-2

Foundations

  • Domain 1 (anatomy) and Domain 4 (neurological examination and diagnostic techniques)
  • These anchor everything that follows, especially lesion localization
Weeks 3-4

Mechanisms and Interpretation

  • Domain 2 (neuropathology and neuroimaging) and Domain 3 (neurophysiology and neuropharmacology)
Weeks 5-7

Operative Core

  • Domain 5 (surgical techniques and approaches), then Domain 9 (spinal disorders and surgery)
  • Rehearse approach selection and complication management aloud for Part II
Week 8

Subspecialty and Professional Content

  • Domains 6, 7 and 8 (pediatric, functional, neurotrauma and critical care) plus Domain 10 (ethics and medico-legal issues)

Candidates can supplement this with the public AANOS Neurosurgery Reading List, which is a preparation bibliography for the written and oral exams. It is not an examination blueprint, and it does not prove that its listed book editions are current, so verify editions before buying. For a fuller plan, see the Clinical Neurosurgery study guide, a one-page recap in the cheat sheet and an honest look at difficulty in how hard the exam is.

Key Takeaway

Prepare for Part II from the start. Because the oral examination tests clinical judgment, diagnosis, operative decisions and complication management, practice explaining your reasoning out loud for every operative topic rather than only memorizing facts for the written stage.

To test yourself against realistic question styles, try the practice questions on our main practice test site, and use them to find which of the ten topics needs the most review before you schedule anything.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is a Clinical Neurosurgery credential?

It is a board certification in neurological surgery issued through AFMA's American Board of Clinical Neurological Surgery (ABCNS), with the examination process administered by AANOS. It recognizes physicians who have completed neurosurgical training and passed a written and an oral examination.

How many parts does the examination have?

Two. Part I is an online written exam that you can schedule from home or office. Part II is a separate oral examination covering clinical judgment, diagnosis, operative decisions and complication management. You must pass Part I before taking Part II.

How much does it cost?

The application and examination fee is USD $1,850. A written retake requires a six-month wait and a separate fee whose amount is not specified in the reviewed instructions. Renewal every five years carries a USD $450 processing fee per certification.

Does certification let me practice or get hospital privileges?

No. Board certification does not confer medical licensure and does not guarantee acceptance by any particular hospital for privileges. You need current licensure separately, and privileging decisions remain with each institution. See exam dates and scheduling for timing details once you are eligible.

Can I use an international certification in the US?

No. International certifications are restricted to the country of licensure and practice and are not transferable to the US. US-use certification requires that you legally reside and practice in the US and meet the US-specific residency, practice and case requirements.

Ready to pass your Clinical Neurosurgery exam?

Put this into practice with free Clinical Neurosurgery questions across every exam domain.