- How Clinical Neurosurgery Scheduling Actually Works
- Who Runs the Process: AANOS, AFMA, and ABCNS
- Building Your Application Timeline Backward
- Scheduling Part I, the Online Written Examination
- Part II Oral Examination Timing
- What Your Testing Date Must Be Ready For
- Retake Windows and Failure Planning
- Key Dates and Intervals at a Glance
- Mapping Domains to a Preparation Calendar
- After You Pass: The Five-Year Renewal Clock
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Part I is an online written exam you can schedule from home or office; no fixed national test-center window was found.
- Pass Part I before sitting the separate Part II oral exam; the oral is preferably completed within two months.
- The application and examination fee is USD $1,850, and AANOS membership is required.
- A written retake requires a six-month wait plus a separate fee, the amount of which is not specified.
How Clinical Neurosurgery Scheduling Actually Works
Most candidates searching for "exam dates 2026" expect a calendar of fixed testing windows, the kind published by large national boards, with registration deadlines, a lottery of seats, and a handful of test-center dates per year. That model does not describe the Clinical Neurosurgery examination. Based on the issuer's current public materials, Part I is an online written examination that can be scheduled for home or office, which means your testing date is something you arrange within the certification process rather than something you reserve from a published national calendar.
That distinction matters for planning. The real deadlines in this pathway are not seasonal windows; they are the interval rules built into the process: the requirement to pass Part I before Part II, the guidance that the oral examination be completed preferably within two months of passing the written stage, and the six-month wait before a written retake. Your effective "exam date" is determined by when your application is complete, when your supporting documents arrive, and when you decide you are ready.
If you are still deciding whether this credential fits your career, read What Is Clinical Neurosurgery Certification? first, then return here to plan the logistics.
Who Runs the Process: AANOS, AFMA, and ABCNS
Understanding which organization does what prevents wasted effort. The credential is tied to AANOS (American Academy of Neurological & Orthopaedic Surgeons), which administers the examination process and requires membership. The current certifying body is the American Federation for Medical Accreditation (AFMA), acting through its American Board of Clinical Neurological Surgery (ABCNS). Membership and certification applications may be submitted at the same time, so you do not need to wait for one to clear before starting the other.
This is a distinct pathway from the examinations of other neurosurgical organizations, including ABNS examinations and AANS courses. Do not mix their calendars, deadlines, or fee structures with this credential. The application materials themselves use "Clinical Neurosurgery" in the introduction and "Clinical Neurological Surgery" on the selection form, so if you see both phrasings in the paperwork, they refer to the same certification track.
Building Your Application Timeline Backward
Because the exam is scheduled after your application is processed, the real critical path runs through your paperwork. Start from the date you want to sit Part I and work backward through each document you must assemble. The full eligibility picture is covered in Clinical Neurosurgery Requirements 2026, but the scheduling-relevant items are:
- Training confirmation: the program director must confirm your training directly. This is a third-party step you do not control, so request it early.
- Two specialty-colleague recommendations: these must be submitted directly by the recommenders, not forwarded by you.
- CV and training certificates: straightforward, but certificates from older residencies can take time to retrieve.
- 150 CME hours from the previous three years for US applicants; check that your documentation is complete and itemized.
- Case documentation: at least 25 primary-provider case reports or operative/surgical cases, rising to 50 if your residency was outside the US.
- Licensure: appropriate current medical licensure in the jurisdiction where you will use the certification.
Also confirm the experience window. General eligibility includes 18-24 months of specialty practice after training in the country where the certification will be used, and US-use certification carries a specific requirement of at least five years of neurological-surgery residency or equivalent. Applicants trained outside the US seeking US-use certification need 24 months of US practice and 50 US cases. If you fall short of any threshold, your effective eligibility date, and therefore your exam date, moves out accordingly.
Scheduling Part I, the Online Written Examination
Part I is the written stage, delivered online and schedulable for home or office. For many candidates this removes the biggest logistical obstacle of traditional boards: travel, test-center availability, and clinic coverage for a fixed day. It does shift responsibility onto you to create a controlled testing environment.
The ABCNS page requires at least 70% correct on Part I. That is the written-stage threshold as published by the board; for the complete discussion of how this interacts with AFMA's general instructions, see Clinical Neurosurgery Passing Score 2026.
Home or office readiness check
- Confirm your internet connection and device meet whatever technical requirements the exam process specifies.
- Choose a location where you will not be interrupted by clinic, call pagers, or household activity.
- Ask AANOS or AFMA for the current rules on permitted materials and proctoring so nothing surprises you.
Select a date with oral timing in mind
- Because the oral examination may follow immediately and is preferably completed within two months, choose a Part I date that leaves your calendar open afterward.
- Avoid scheduling Part I the week before a major surgical block, conference, or leave period.
Part II Oral Examination Timing
Passing Part I is required before the separate Part II oral examination, which assesses clinical judgment, diagnosis, operative decisions, and complication management. The published guidance is that the oral examination may follow immediately after the written stage and is preferably completed within two months of passing it.
Practically, that makes the oral stage the time-sensitive part of your plan. Your written-stage knowledge is fresh, and the process favors momentum. Two approaches work well:
- Back-to-back strategy: prepare for both stages together and request the oral immediately after passing Part I. This suits candidates with strong operative experience who can talk through cases fluently.
- Staged strategy: pass Part I, then use the remaining window (up to roughly two months) to rehearse case-based answers aloud. This suits candidates who need deliberate practice articulating decisions rather than just recalling facts.
Key Takeaway
Do not treat the two-month guidance as flexible. Block oral preparation time on your calendar before you sit Part I, rehearsing complication management out loud with a colleague, because the oral stage rewards structured reasoning under questioning rather than memorized lists.
What Your Testing Date Must Be Ready For
A date is only useful if you are prepared for what the exam covers. The issuer publishes an inclusive, unweighted list of Part I topics. It is not an official numbered or weighted blueprint and does not claim to be exhaustive, so use it as a coverage guide rather than a guarantee. For the full walkthrough, see Clinical Neurosurgery Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 10 Content Areas. The ten areas are:
Foundational Sciences
- Anatomy of the brain, spinal cord, and peripheral nerves: the base layer for every operative decision.
- Neuropathology and Neuroimaging: tissue diagnosis and image interpretation.
- Neurophysiology and Neuropharmacology: monitoring, physiology, and drug effects.
- Neurological examination and diagnostic techniques: localization and workup.
Operative and Clinical Practice
- Surgical techniques and approaches for brain and spinal cord tumors, vascular disorders, trauma, and infection.
- Pediatric neurosurgery: developmental and congenital considerations.
- Functional neurosurgery: movement, pain, and related procedures.
- Neurotrauma and Critical Care: acute management and ICU decision-making.
- Spinal disorders and surgery: degenerative, traumatic, and deformity cases.
Professional Practice
- Ethics and medico-legal issues in neurosurgery: consent, documentation, and professional responsibility.
Note what is absent from the public sources: no verified question count, no stated time limit for the written or oral stage, and no published pass-rate statistic. Because of that gap, our discussion in Clinical Neurosurgery Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows and How Hard Is the Clinical Neurosurgery Exam? stays qualitative rather than citing numbers that cannot be verified.
Retake Windows and Failure Planning
A written retake requires a six-month wait and a separate examination fee. The reviewed instructions do not specify the retake fee amount, so confirm it in writing before you budget. The six-month interval is the single most important scheduling fact for anyone who does not pass on the first attempt: a failed Part I effectively removes about half a year from your timeline.
That reality argues for treating your first attempt as the one that counts. If you are weighing how much preparation time to invest before booking, Clinical Neurosurgery Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt lays out a structured approach.
Key Dates and Intervals at a Glance
| Milestone | What the Published Rules Say |
|---|---|
| Application and exam fee | USD $1,850 |
| Membership | AANOS membership required; membership and certification applications may be submitted simultaneously |
| Part I format | Online written examination, schedulable for home or office |
| Part I threshold | At least 70% correct per the ABCNS page |
| Part II sequence | Separate oral exam; requires passing Part I first |
| Part II timing | May follow immediately; preferably within two months of passing the written stage |
| Written retake | Six-month wait plus a separate fee (amount not specified) |
| Renewal cycle | Every five years; USD $450 processing fee per certification |
| Renewal CME | 150 Category 1 CME hours over the previous five years |
Mapping Domains to a Preparation Calendar
Once your application is moving and your target window is set, sequence your preparation by dependency rather than by topic order. The logic: anatomy and neuropathology underpin nearly every other domain, so they go first; surgical approaches and subspecialty areas build on them; ethics and medico-legal material is lighter to learn but easy to neglect, so schedule it deliberately. A reasonable arrangement for a candidate with about two months before Part I:
Foundations
- Anatomy of the brain, spinal cord, and peripheral nerves
- Neuropathology and Neuroimaging
Physiology and Diagnosis
- Neurophysiology and Neuropharmacology
- Neurological examination and diagnostic techniques
Operative Core
- Surgical techniques and approaches for tumors, vascular disorders, trauma, and infection
- Spinal disorders and surgery
Subspecialty and Integration
- Pediatric neurosurgery and Functional neurosurgery
- Neurotrauma and Critical Care
- Ethics and medico-legal issues, then full practice questions
Because the oral exam follows soon after, convert each week's content into spoken case discussions: for every domain, practice explaining diagnosis, operative choice, and how you would manage a complication. For a compact review of facts to carry into both stages, use the Clinical Neurosurgery Cheat Sheet, and drill with the Clinical Neurosurgery practice tests to find weak domains before your date is fixed.
The public AANOS Neurosurgery Reading List is a useful bibliography for written and oral preparation. Treat it as a reading guide rather than an exam blueprint, and verify which book editions are current before buying.
After You Pass: The Five-Year Renewal Clock
Scheduling does not end with certification. Renewal is required every five years. The renewal package includes an updated CV, documentation of continuing medical education and ongoing skills training, a detailed list of 150 Category 1 CME hours from the previous five years, and a USD $450 processing fee per certification. Late fees may be assessed once the five-year period lapses, so set a reminder well ahead of your expiration date and log CME as you earn it instead of reconstructing it later.
Two scope reminders are worth keeping in mind as you plan your career timeline. International certifications are restricted to the country of licensure and practice and are not transferable to the US; US-use certification requires you to legally reside and practice in the US. And board certification does not confer medical licensure or guarantee that a particular hospital will grant privileges. For a realistic view of the career side, review Clinical Neurosurgery Jobs, Clinical Neurosurgery Salary Guide 2026, and Is the Clinical Neurosurgery Certification Worth It?
Frequently Asked Questions
No fixed national calendar was found in the current public issuer sources. Part I is an online written exam that can be scheduled for home or office, so your date depends on completing your application and arranging the sitting. Confirm current scheduling directly with AANOS or AFMA.
The oral examination may follow immediately after you pass the written stage and is preferably completed within two months. You must pass Part I before Part II.
A written retake requires a six-month wait and a separate examination fee. The reviewed instructions do not state the retake fee amount, so ask for it in writing before you budget.
The application and examination fee is USD $1,850, and AANOS membership is required. Membership and certification applications may be submitted at the same time. See the certification cost breakdown for the full picture.
Renewal is required every five years with an updated CV, CME and skills-training documentation, a detailed list of 150 Category 1 CME hours, and a USD $450 processing fee per certification. Late fees may apply after five years.
For a broader introduction to the credential itself, start with Clinical Neurosurgery Certification, and keep the dedicated Clinical Neurosurgery exam dates page bookmarked for scheduling updates.