- What This Credential Actually Is
- The Numbers at a Glance
- Part I and Part II: How the Exam Flows
- The Ten Published Topic Areas
- Eligibility Checklist in One Page
- Case Requirements and Documentation
- What the Oral Examination Rewards
- Sequencing Your Review by Domain
- After You Pass: Renewal and Limits
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The application and examination fee is USD $1,850; renewal every five years costs a USD $450 processing fee.
- Part I is an online written exam; passing it is required before the Part II oral examination.
- ABCNS requires at least 70% correct on Part I; AFMA's general instructions cite a 70% cumulative result.
- US-use certification requires five years of neurological-surgery residency or equivalent plus 25 primary-provider cases.
What This Credential Actually Is
Before memorizing anything, anchor the identity of this exam. The credential covered here is Clinical Neurosurgery as administered through the American Academy of Neurological & Orthopaedic Surgeons (AANOS). The certifying body is the American Federation for Medical Accreditation (AFMA), through its American Board of Clinical Neurological Surgery (ABCNS). AANOS administers the examination process, and AANOS membership is required. Membership and certification applications may be submitted at the same time.
That chain of names matters because other neurosurgery examinations and courses exist and are distinct from this one. The ABNS examinations and AANS courses, for example, are separate programs with their own rules. Nothing on this cheat sheet transfers to or from them. If you need a primer on terminology first, see What Is Clinical Neurosurgery Certification? and Clinical Neurosurgery Certification.
The Numbers at a Glance
This is the one-page core. Every figure below comes from the published AANOS/AFMA/ABCNS materials reviewed for this site.
| Item | Published Fact |
|---|---|
| Application and examination fee | USD $1,850 |
| Part I format | Online written exam, schedulable from home or office |
| Part II format | Oral exam on clinical judgment, diagnosis, operative decisions, and complication management |
| Part I passing standard (ABCNS page) | At least 70% correct |
| AFMA general instructions | 70% cumulative written/oral passing result |
| Oral timing | May follow immediately; preferably within two months of passing the written stage |
| Written retake | Six-month wait plus a separate exam fee (amount not specified in reviewed instructions) |
| Minimum case reports (US residency) | 25 primary-provider case reports or operative/surgical cases |
| Minimum cases (residency outside US) | 50 |
| CME for US applicants | 150 hours from the previous three years |
| Renewal cycle | Every five years |
| Renewal fee | USD $450 processing fee per certification |
Notice what is not in the table: a question count, a time limit for either stage, and a pass-rate statistic. None of these were verified in the current public issuer sources, so any number you see quoted elsewhere should be treated with suspicion. For a candid look at what the data does and does not show, read Clinical Neurosurgery Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows. For fee context beyond the $1,850, see Clinical Neurosurgery Certification Cost 2026.
Part I and Part II: How the Exam Flows
Part I: the online written examination
Part I is delivered online and can be scheduled from home or office. Passing it is a hard prerequisite to the oral examination. The published ABCNS standard is at least 70% correct. Candidates should plan for the written stage to test breadth across the ten topic areas listed below, because the issuer describes those topics as inclusive rather than as a formal blueprint.
Part II: the oral examination
Part II is a separate oral examination focused on clinical judgment, diagnosis, operative decisions, and complication management. It can follow Part I immediately, but the preferred window is within two months after passing the written stage. If you intend to take both stages in one sitting window, prepare for the oral format before you sit the written exam rather than after.
Retake rules
A failed written exam requires a six-month wait before retaking, and a separate examination fee applies. The reviewed instructions do not state the retake fee amount, so budget conservatively and ask before you pay.
The Ten Published Topic Areas
The issuer publishes ten unweighted Part I topics. They are an inclusive list, not an exhaustive or numbered blueprint, so treat them as a minimum scope. Below is each area with the kinds of content that typically earn points in a neurosurgical certification setting. For a deeper walk-through, see Clinical Neurosurgery Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 10 Content Areas.
Domain 1: Anatomy of the brain, spinal cord, and peripheral nerves
Anatomy is the substrate for every operative question. Expect to connect structure to function and to surgical corridors.
- Cranial nerve nuclei, courses, and foraminal exits
- Arterial territories, circle of Willis variants, and venous drainage
- Spinal cord tracts, level localization, and vascular supply
- Brachial and lumbosacral plexus anatomy and peripheral nerve entrapment sites
Domain 2: Neuropathology and Neuroimaging
Be able to move from a described image or histology to a diagnosis and a management implication.
- CNS tumor classes and their typical imaging appearance
- CT versus MRI sequence selection for hemorrhage, ischemia, and infection
- Vascular imaging modalities and their limits
- Degenerative, demyelinating, and infectious pathology patterns
Domain 3: Neurophysiology and Neuropharmacology
Know the physiology behind monitoring and the pharmacology behind perioperative and seizure management.
- Intracranial pressure dynamics and cerebral perfusion concepts
- EEG, evoked potentials, and intraoperative monitoring principles
- Antiepileptic drug mechanisms and perioperative considerations
- Osmotic agents, steroids, and anticoagulation reversal in neurosurgical patients
Domain 4: Neurological examination and diagnostic techniques
This area underpins both the written and oral stages, because oral cases begin with the bedside.
- Localizing lesions from motor, sensory, reflex, and cranial nerve findings
- Coma and brainstem assessment
- Choosing the right diagnostic test and sequencing it sensibly
- Interpreting electrodiagnostic and lumbar puncture results
Domain 5: Surgical techniques and approaches for brain and spinal cord tumors, vascular disorders, trauma, and infection
The largest conceptual area by sheer breadth. It is also where the oral exam is most likely to probe your reasoning.
- Craniotomy planning, approach selection, and positioning
- Aneurysm, AVM, and cavernous malformation decision-making
- Intradural versus extradural spinal tumor strategies
- Abscess, empyema, and osteomyelitis management and indications for surgery
Domain 6: Pediatric neurosurgery
Pediatric patients are not small adults; expect age-specific presentations and congenital conditions.
- Hydrocephalus etiologies, shunt malfunction, and endoscopic options
- Neural tube defects and tethered cord
- Craniosynostosis and common pediatric posterior fossa tumors
- Pediatric head trauma and non-accidental injury considerations
Domain 7: Functional neurosurgery
Focus on indications, patient selection, and complications rather than on technical minutiae alone.
- Movement disorder surgery and deep brain stimulation concepts
- Epilepsy surgery evaluation and resection principles
- Pain procedures, including neuromodulation and ablative options
- Spasticity management approaches
Domain 8: Neurotrauma and Critical Care
High-yield for both stages because decisions are time-sensitive and protocol-driven.
- Severity grading, herniation syndromes, and indications for decompression
- ICP monitoring and tiered treatment of intracranial hypertension
- Spinal cord injury management and stability assessment
- Neurocritical care issues such as sodium disorders, seizures, and brain death evaluation
Domain 9: Spinal disorders and surgery
Know when to operate, which approach to choose, and how to handle complications.
- Degenerative cervical and lumbar disease and myelopathy versus radiculopathy
- Deformity, instability, and fusion principles
- Spinal trauma classification and decompression timing
- Postoperative complications such as dural tear, infection, and adjacent-segment disease
Domain 10: Ethics and medico-legal issues in neurosurgery
The most underestimated area. These questions reward clear principles over memorized trivia.
- Informed consent, capacity, and surrogate decision-making
- Disclosure of complications and errors
- End-of-life and brain-death considerations
- Documentation, scope of practice, and professional liability themes
Key Takeaway
Because the ten areas are unweighted and the list is inclusive, do not skip the "soft" domains. Ethics and medico-legal issues and neuropharmacology are easy places to lose points that a strong operative background cannot recover.
Eligibility Checklist in One Page
General eligibility requires the following. For the full qualification narrative, see Clinical Neurosurgery Requirements 2026.
- Medical school graduation and internship.
- One year of general-surgery residency.
- Four years of specialty residency or equivalent.
- Appropriate current medical licensure.
- Direct program-director confirmation of your training.
- 18 to 24 months of subsequent specialty practice in the country where you plan to use the certification.
The current specialty-specific rule adds a separate requirement for US-use certification: a minimum of five years of neurological-surgery residency or equivalent. Use that current rule and the current linked application, not the older 2015 application, as your reference.
If you trained outside the United States
Applicants trained outside the US who want US-use certification need 24 months of US practice and 50 US cases. International certifications are restricted to the country of licensure and practice and are not transferable to the US. US-use certification also requires that you legally reside and practice in the US.
Case Requirements and Documentation
The case log is where many applications stall, so treat it as a project with its own timeline.
| Requirement | US-Trained Applicant | Residency Outside US |
|---|---|---|
| Primary-provider case reports or operative/surgical cases | At least 25 | At least 50 |
| CME hours (previous three years, US applicants) | 150 | 150 (US applicants) |
| Recommendations | Two, submitted directly by specialty colleagues | Two, submitted directly by specialty colleagues |
| Other documents | CV and training certificates | CV and training certificates |
Remember what certification does not do: it does not confer medical licensure, and it does not guarantee that any particular hospital will grant you privileges. Privileging remains a separate decision made by each institution. If you are weighing the career upside, see Is the Clinical Neurosurgery Certification Worth It? and Clinical Neurosurgery Salary Guide 2026.
What the Oral Examination Rewards
The oral stage tests clinical judgment, diagnosis, operative decisions, and complication management. That wording tells you how to prepare. The examiner is not looking for recited facts; they are looking for a safe, logical sequence of decisions.
A reliable structure for any oral case
- Restate the problem and identify the most dangerous possibility first.
- Localize and examine by saying what you would look for at the bedside and why.
- Choose imaging or testing with a reason, and state what result would change your plan.
- Decide and justify operative versus non-operative management, including timing.
- Name the approach and the critical anatomy you must protect.
- Anticipate complications and say how you would recognize and manage them.
Complication management deserves explicit rehearsal. Practice saying aloud how you would handle a postoperative hematoma, a CSF leak, a new neurological deficit after spinal surgery, or an infected shunt. Fluent, calm answers to these are what separate a pass from a near miss.
Sequencing Your Review by Domain
The only study-planning advice this cheat sheet offers is domain sequencing, because the order matters more than the method. This sample timeline is a suggestion, not a published schedule. For a fuller plan, see Clinical Neurosurgery Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt.
Foundations first
- Domain 1 anatomy and Domain 4 neurological examination, because every later domain depends on them
- Domain 3 physiology and pharmacology alongside
Pathology and imaging
- Domain 2 neuropathology and neuroimaging
- Pair each tumor and vascular lesion with its imaging signature
Operative and subspecialty domains
- Domain 5 surgical approaches, then Domains 6, 7, and 9
- Rehearse oral-style case walkthroughs aloud as you go
Acute care, ethics, and integration
- Domain 8 neurotrauma and critical care and Domain 10 ethics and medico-legal issues
- Mixed practice sets and a full oral rehearsal
Schedule the written exam so that the oral stage can follow within the preferred two-month window. Build the oral rehearsal into the last two weeks rather than treating it as an afterthought. When you are ready to test yourself, use the question sets on the main practice test site, and check Clinical Neurosurgery Exam Dates 2026 for scheduling mechanics.
After You Pass: Renewal and Limits
Certification is not permanent. Renewal is required every five years and requires:
- An updated CV.
- Documentation of continuing medical education and ongoing skills training.
- A detailed list of 150 Category 1 CME hours from the previous five years.
- A USD $450 processing fee per certification.
Late fees may be assessed after the five-year mark, so calendar your renewal well ahead. Keep CME records organized from year one rather than reconstructing them at the deadline.
Keep the geographic limit in mind as well. International certifications are restricted to the country of licensure and practice, so a credential used in one country does not automatically carry to the US. For where certified clinicians work, see Clinical Neurosurgery Jobs and Clinical Neurosurgery Training. For a frank assessment of exam difficulty, see How Hard Is the Clinical Neurosurgery Exam?
Frequently Asked Questions
The application and examination fee is USD $1,850. A written retake requires a six-month wait and a separate examination fee, the amount of which is not specified in the reviewed instructions. Renewal every five years carries a USD $450 processing fee per certification.
The ABCNS page requires at least 70% correct on Part I. AFMA's general instructions state a 70% cumulative written/oral passing result. No combined-score formula is published in the reviewed sources, so confirm how the two stages are evaluated when you apply.
Both. Part I is an online written examination that you can schedule from home or office. Passing it is required before Part II, a separate oral examination covering clinical judgment, diagnosis, operative decisions, and complication management.
The question count and the written and oral time limits were not verified in the current public issuer sources. Do not rely on third-party figures. Ask AANOS or AFMA directly when you register.
No. Board certification does not confer medical licensure and does not guarantee acceptance by a particular hospital for privileges. You must hold appropriate current licensure, and each institution makes its own privileging decisions.
Use this sheet as your quick-reference spine, and verify every fee, deadline, and eligibility rule against the current AANOS and AFMA pages before you apply, since requirements can change.