Clinical Neurosurgery logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

Clinical Neurosurgery Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown

TL;DR
  • The published application and examination fee for Clinical Neurosurgery certification is USD $1,850.
  • Renewal is required every five years and carries a USD $450 processing fee per certification.
  • A written retake requires a six-month wait and a separate fee; the amount is not specified in the reviewed instructions.
  • AANOS membership is required, and membership and certification applications may be submitted simultaneously.

The Clinical Neurosurgery Certification Cost at a Glance

When surgeons ask what Clinical Neurosurgery certification costs, the honest answer has two layers: the fee you pay directly to the certifying process, and the surrounding expenses of documentation, continuing education, preparation, and eventual renewal. The first layer is refreshingly simple. The second layer is where budgets drift.

This guide breaks down every cost that is published for the Clinical Neurosurgery credential, flags the figures the issuer has not specified, and avoids inventing numbers where none exist. If you are still deciding whether to pursue the credential at all, pair this article with our ROI analysis of Clinical Neurosurgery certification.

Cost ItemPublished AmountFrequency
Application and examination feeUSD $1,850Once, at application
Written examination retake feeSeparate fee; amount not specified in reviewed instructionsPer retake, after a six-month wait
Renewal processing feeUSD $450 per certificationEvery five years
Late renewal feesMay be assessed after five years; amount not specifiedIf renewal is late
AANOS membershipRequired; amount not specified in the sources reviewedPer the membership terms

Who Actually Charges You: AANOS, AFMA and ABCNS

Understanding the three organizations involved prevents confusion about where money goes. The current certifying body is the American Federation for Medical Accreditation (AFMA), operating through its American Board of Clinical Neurological Surgery (ABCNS). The American Academy of Neurological & Orthopaedic Surgeons (AANOS) administers the examination process, and membership is required.

That arrangement matters for budgeting. You are not simply buying an exam; you are joining a membership organization while applying to a certifying board. The application permits membership and certification applications to be made at the same time, so you can handle both in one sitting rather than sequencing them across months.

Scope reminder: This pricing applies to the AANOS/AFMA/ABCNS pathway for Clinical Neurosurgery. It does not describe examinations from other neurosurgical bodies or course fees from unrelated organizations. If you see a quoted price tied to a different board or a course provider, do not assume it transfers to this credential.

The $1,850 Application and Examination Fee

The headline number is USD $1,850, covering both the application and the examination. The format of the exam shapes what that fee buys:

  • Part I is an online written examination that can be scheduled for home or office, which removes travel and testing-center costs from your budget.
  • Part II is a separate oral examination assessing clinical judgment, diagnosis, operative decisions, and complication management. It requires passing Part I first.

The oral examination may follow immediately after the written stage, and it is preferably completed within two months of passing Part I. Practically, that means you should plan your calendar and any time away from clinic around a compressed window rather than spreading the stages across a long period. For exam logistics, see our guide to Clinical Neurosurgery exam dates and scheduling.

What the Fee Does Not Tell You

The reviewed public sources do not state a question count, a written or oral time limit, or a pass-rate statistic. That absence has a budgeting implication: you cannot estimate the effort of a single attempt from published statistics, so build a margin into your preparation budget. Our article on what the pass-rate data shows explains how to reason about this without fabricated numbers.

Costs Outside the Fee Schedule

The $1,850 covers the application and examination, but the application itself requires materials that cost time, and sometimes money, to assemble. Here is what you must gather:

  • A current curriculum vitae
  • Training certificates documenting your residency and prior training
  • Direct confirmation of training from your program director
  • Two recommendations from specialty colleagues, submitted directly to the board
  • Documentation of appropriate current medical licensure
  • At least 25 primary-provider case reports or operative/surgical cases (50 if your residency was outside the US)
  • For US applicants, 150 CME hours from the previous three years

Few of these items carry a published fee, but case documentation is labor-intensive. Compiling 25 or 50 well-documented cases is often the single largest time cost before you ever pay the application fee. For a full eligibility walkthrough, read our Clinical Neurosurgery requirements guide.

Licensure is not included: Board certification does not confer medical licensure, and it does not guarantee that any hospital will grant you privileges. Your state or national licensing fees, credentialing fees, and any privileging costs are entirely separate line items. Budget for them independently.

What a Written Retake Costs You

If you do not reach the required threshold on Part I, the retake policy has two cost components. First, a mandatory six-month waiting period before you can sit the written examination again. Second, a separate examination fee whose amount is not specified in the reviewed instructions.

The six-month wait is arguably the more expensive element for a practicing neurosurgeon, because it delays the credential and anything you were planning to do with it, such as hospital credentialing, job applications, or negotiating compensation. If you are on a hiring timeline, treat a first-attempt pass as the baseline plan and a retake as a real financial risk.

On scoring, the ABCNS page requires at least 70% correct on Part I, while AFMA's general instructions state a 70% cumulative written/oral passing result. These are two distinct published rules, and no combined-score formula has been verified, so confirm directly with the board how your results will be evaluated. See our passing score breakdown for the full picture.

Five-Year Renewal and the $450 Processing Fee

Certification is not a one-time purchase. Renewal is required every five years, and each renewal carries a USD $450 processing fee per certification. Late fees may be assessed once the five-year period has passed.

A renewal package includes:

  1. An updated CV
  2. Documentation of continuing medical education and ongoing skills training
  3. A detailed list of 150 Category 1 CME hours earned over the previous five years
  4. The $450 processing fee

Over a career, the recurring fee is modest relative to the initial $1,850, but it compounds with the CME burden described below. A surgeon practicing for twenty-five years after initial certification will go through multiple renewal cycles, so the lifetime cost is the initial fee plus repeated $450 payments plus the continuing education required to qualify each time.

The 150 CME Hours: Your Largest Indirect Expense

Both ends of the credential lifecycle involve 150 CME hours: US applicants need them from the previous three years at initial application, and renewal requires 150 Category 1 hours over the previous five years. The published sources do not put a dollar figure on CME, because the cost depends entirely on how you earn the hours.

Ways surgeons typically accumulate hours include society meetings, journal-based activities, institutional grand rounds that carry credit, and online modules. The cost range across these is wide, from nearly free to thousands of dollars once travel, registration, and time away from practice are counted. Because you will likely be earning CME anyway for licensure, the incremental cost of certification may be small, but only if the hours you earn meet the Category 1 requirement and are documented well enough to list in detail.

Key Takeaway

Keep a running CME log from the day you begin your career. The renewal application asks for a detailed list of 150 Category 1 hours, and reconstructing five years of records at the last minute is both stressful and a common reason applicants risk late fees.

Cost Considerations for International and US-Use Applicants

Where you trained and where you intend to practice change both the requirements and the effective cost of qualifying.

Applicant SituationCase RequirementAdditional Requirement
US residency, certification for US useAt least 25 primary-provider casesMinimum five years of neurological-surgery residency or equivalent; 150 CME hours from the previous three years
Residency outside the USAt least 50 casesIncreased case requirement applies
Trained outside the US, seeking US-use certification50 US cases24 months of US practice; must legally reside and practice in the US

The hidden cost here is time. A non-US-trained surgeon seeking US-use certification must accumulate 24 months of US practice and 50 US cases before qualifying, which is a multi-year investment rather than a line item. Conversely, international certifications are restricted to the country of licensure and practice and are not transferable to the US, so surgeons planning to move between countries should not assume one fee buys a portable credential.

Budgeting Preparation Time by Exam Domain

Money is only part of the budget; preparation hours are the other. The ten published Part I topics are an inclusive list rather than an official weighted blueprint, so you cannot allocate hours by percentages. You can, however, sequence them sensibly. A suggested approach keyed to the actual domain names:

Weeks 1-2

Foundations

  • Anatomy of the brain, spinal cord, and peripheral nerves
  • Neuropathology and Neuroimaging
  • Neurophysiology and Neuropharmacology
Weeks 3-4

Clinical Assessment and Operative Core

  • Neurological examination and diagnostic techniques
  • Surgical techniques and approaches for brain and spinal cord tumors, vascular disorders, trauma, and infection
Weeks 5-6

Subspecialty and Acute Care

  • Pediatric neurosurgery
  • Functional neurosurgery
  • Neurotrauma and Critical Care
  • Spinal disorders and surgery
Week 7

Ethics, Oral Readiness, and Review

  • Ethics and medico-legal issues in neurosurgery
  • Rehearse oral-style reasoning on diagnosis, operative decisions, and complication management

The rationale: anatomy, pathology, and physiology underpin everything in the operative and acute-care domains, so mastering them first makes the later material easier to retain. The oral examination, which tests clinical judgment, rewards candidates who have practiced talking through decisions aloud, so reserve final-week time for that rather than for passive rereading. For the reasoning behind each content area, see our complete guide to all 10 exam domains, and for a fuller plan, our Clinical Neurosurgery study guide.

Where Preparation Spending Tends to Pay Off

Reference material and practice questions are the main optional expenses. The public AANOS Neurosurgery Reading List is a preparation bibliography for the written and oral exams, but it is not an examination blueprint, and it does not prove its book editions are current.

  • Check edition dates before buying any textbook from a reading list.
  • Use timed practice on the Clinical Neurosurgery practice test to find weak domains before you pay for a live attempt.
  • Prioritize question practice in Surgical techniques, Neurotrauma and Critical Care, and Spinal disorders, which map directly to the operative judgment the oral stage probes.

Because a failed written attempt means a six-month delay and an additional fee, spending modestly on rigorous practice is usually cheaper than risking a retake. Our guide on how hard the Clinical Neurosurgery exam is helps you calibrate how much preparation to budget.

Weighing the Spend Against the Credential

The total direct cost for initial certification, $1,850, is modest compared with the earning potential and professional standing of a neurosurgeon. But a clear-eyed view requires acknowledging what certification does and does not do. It does not confer licensure, and it does not guarantee hospital privileges. Its value depends on how employers, credentialing committees, and payers in your practice setting treat it.

Before paying, confirm with the hospitals or groups you intend to work with whether this credential satisfies their credentialing expectations. To understand the career side, review our overviews of Clinical Neurosurgery jobs and our salary guide, and read our certification overview for the broader context. If you want to understand what the credential is before committing funds, start with what Clinical Neurosurgery certification is.

Budget summary: Plan for the $1,850 application and examination fee up front, set aside a contingency for a possible retake fee (amount to be confirmed with the board), keep a CME log to protect your renewal, and reserve $450 for each five-year processing cycle. Anything beyond that, such as study materials, travel for CME, or licensure, is on top of the published fees.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does Clinical Neurosurgery certification cost?

The published application and examination fee is USD $1,850. Renewal every five years carries a separate USD $450 processing fee per certification. AANOS membership is also required, and its cost is not specified in the sources reviewed.

Do I have to pay separately for the written and oral exams?

The published fee covers the application and examination. Part I is an online written exam and Part II is a separate oral exam, which you may take immediately after passing Part I and preferably within two months. The reviewed sources do not describe a separate fee for the oral stage.

What does a retake cost?

A written retake requires a six-month wait and a separate examination fee. The amount of that fee is not specified in the reviewed instructions, so confirm it with the board before planning your budget.

What does renewal involve and what does it cost?

Renewal is required every five years. You submit an updated CV, documentation of continuing education and skills training, a detailed list of 150 Category 1 CME hours from the previous five years, and a USD $450 processing fee per certification. Late fees may be assessed after five years.

Does paying the fee guarantee hospital privileges or a license?

No. Board certification does not confer medical licensure and does not guarantee that a particular hospital will grant privileges. Licensure and credentialing costs are separate from the certification fee.

Ready to pass your Clinical Neurosurgery exam?

Put this into practice with free Clinical Neurosurgery questions across every exam domain.